2019 SOUTH MIDLAND METEOR GROUP TRIALS CHAMPIONSHIP

FINAL RESULTS

The South Midland Meteor Group Clubs had a full programme of twelve rounds for 6 Adult classes, 3 Youth classes and two Club Championships. This year an additional Championship Class for Twin-Shocks was introduced in February and was well contested. All the events were staged over three routes plus a 50/50(hard) route for Intermediates and 50/50(easy) for the Pre-Sixty-Five (hard) class.

Veteran multi-year winner Graham Haslam (HUX) was back in the top spot again this year ahead of joint second placed Matt LeFevre and Paul Oldfield. Although they tied on points Matt scored in one less round that Paul. Last year's Best Novice, Milton Buzzard's Marcus Haynes won the Intermediate class in his first year as an Inter. Second was Darren Haines and third was Paul Heron. The number of riders contesting the Intermediate class is much higher than any of the other Championship classes. Tim Roblett from the Wycombe club improved on last year's third place in the Novice class to win it this year. Second and third places also went to Wycombe members Jim Morris and Steve McHugh.

Winner of the new Twin-Shock class based on the middle (yellow) route was Milton Buzzard clubman Steve Peak who won seven of the nine rounds he contested. Dave Hill was second and Paul Meader third.

The Pre-Sixty-Five (hard) class now runs on a 50/50 route of middle and easy sections but the entries are still disappointing and well below the Pre-Sixty-Five Sportsmen class. The Class was won by Ixion clubman Wayne Hutton on a Triumph Tiger Cub. Tim Blackmore and Julian Wigg were joint second having each ridden once and won once. The Pre-Sixty-Five Sportsmen class on the easier "white" route was much more popular and very closely contested to the end. It was won by HUX's Nick James on the DOT who finished just one single point ahead of David Clarkson on his Bantam. Both Nick and David rode in ten events with Nick winning 4 and David 3. David was very unfortunate to badly injure his hand in the workshop and rode the last two rounds still carrying the injury. Chris Pickup on his Tiger Cub was third.

The Youth Championship 'A' class is contested over the same sections as the Experts and was won by William Clark (Berko) who contested 2 rounds. Max Bird, Gus Oblien and Joe Snelling each won their single ride and tied for second place. Both Max Golla and Adam Day contested the Youth 'B' class on the middle route three times and they each had a win, a second and a third to come top of the class. As Max is the younger rider he is credited with the class win. Harry Chatto and George Clark were joint third with a win apiece. The 'C' class was won by Kai Morris (Wycombe) ahead of Samuel Lefevre and William Sparks.

The two Club Championships were again strongly contested by the Berko and HUX clubs with Wycombe and Milton Buzzard also featuring in the Club Team Event. Berko won the Club Championship by a significant margin from HUX with Milton Buzzard in third place. Berko also took the top spot in the Club Team Championship by 56 points ahead of HUX with Wycombe and Milton Buzzard tying for third a further 16 points behind. The Club Championship is based on the results of all competing experts and intermediates while the Club Team Championship is based on the positions of each club's best rider in the expert, intermediate, novice, pre-65(hard) and pre-65 sportsmen classes and involves a larger portion of the entry.

It is planned to present the trophies to the winners at the BERKO Group trial on 15 March 2020.

All 2020 Meteor Group events will count towards the Group Championship with a rider's best 11 scores counting. The dates for 2020 are:

19 January - Hayes & Southall; 16 February - Barnet; 15 March - Berko; 12 April - HUX; 17 May - K&K; 21 June - South Harrow; 16 August - Milton Buzzards; 6 September - WMA; 4 October - Oxford Ixion; 18 October - NEL; 15 November - Wycombe and 20 December - Farnham Royal.

<u>2019</u>	METEOR	GROUP TI	RIALS CHAM	PIONSHI	<u> P</u>					
EXPERTS						INTERMEDIATES				
1	Graham	Haslam	HUX	124	1	Marcus	Haynes	M.Buzzard	154	
2	Matthew	Le Fevre	Berko	88	2	Darren	Haines	F Royal	94	
3	Paul	Oldfield	HUX	88	3	Paul	Heron	Wycombe	86	
4	Gus	Oblein	Berko	75	4	Ryan	Tomkins	Ixion	75	
5=	Will	McBain	Ixion	57	5	Mark	George	F Royal	70	
5=	Richard	Vockins	F Royal	57						
		MOST	IMPROVED	INTER		Marcus	Haynes			
	NOVICE				TWIN-SHOCK					
1	Tim	Roblett	Wycombe	184	1	Steve	Peak	M Buzzard	165	
2	Jim	Morris	Wycombe	154	2	David	Hill	Wycombe	118	
3	Steve	McHugh	Wycombe	116	3	Paul	Meader	HUX	66	
4	Paul	Gobey	Berko	56	4	Dean	Devereux	K & K	40	
5	John	Holdsworth	Berko	47	5	Stephen	Clements	Berko	37	
	YOUTH A									
1	William	Clark	Berko	37						
=2	Max	Bird	Berko	20						
=2	Gus	Oblein	Berko	20						
=2	Joe	Snelling	S. Harrow	20						
5	Zak	Whalen	S. Harrow	17						
	YOUTH B	*				YOUTH C				
1	Max	Golla	Berko	52	1	Kai	Morris	Wycombe	94	
2	Adam	Day	MB	52 52	2	Samuel	LeFevre	Berko	55	
3	Harry	Chatto	Berko	40	3	William	Sparks	Berko	37	
4	George	Clark	Berko	40	4	Sophia	Humphrey	M. Buzzard	33	
=5	Max	Bird	Berko	20	=5	Josh	Brown	S. Harrow	20	
=5	Alex	Buckle	Berko	20	=5	Max	Golla	Berko	20	
=5	Ben	Howman	HUX	20	-3	Max	Gona	BCIKO	20	
-3	PRE-SIXT		1107	20		PRE-SIXTY	FIVE SPOR	RTSMAN		
1	Wayne	Hutton	Ixion	80	1	Nick	James	HUX	168	
=2	Tim	Blackmore	HUX	20		David	Clarkson	K & K	167	
=2 =2	Julian	Wigg	Berko	20	2 3	Chris	Pickup	M.Buzzard	145	
=2 4	John	Chatto	Berko	20 17		Mick	Clarkson	K & K	117	
4	JOIIII	Chatto	Derko	1 /	4 5	John	Eckhart	Wycombe	106	
	CLUB CH	AMPIONSHI	ſ P		3		M CHAMPI	•	100	
1	Berko 27				1	Berko	280			
2	HUX			142	2	HUX			224	
3	M. Buzzard			92	=3	M. Buzzard			208	
=4	F. Royal	•		74	=3	Wycombe			208	
=4	Ixion			74	5	Ixion			113	
6	Wycombe			37	6	K & K			104	
7	NEL			25	7	F. Royal			83	
8	S. Harrow			19	=8	NEL			24	
9	Barnet			4	-8 =8	S. Harrow			24	
,	H&S			⊣r	-0	Barnet			∠ ¬	
	K & K					H & S				
	WMA					WMA				
		R Tie brook	, Winner is you	naact ridar		11 1111 1		John Eck	hart	
	1 Outil	D TIE OTEAK,	, willing is you	ngest Huer		Mataca C	Froup Chemi	JOHH ECK		

Champsrpt 2019 2 of 2 18/12/2019

Meteor Group Championship Recorder